All home networking related discussions.
psteichen
Certs:
Willing to learn.

Need help routing data properly.

Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:27 pm

I have a moderately complex home network that serves me well for internet connectivity, but has a major problem when I try to transfer files within the network. I am a novice when it comes to networking, but I learn quickly, so hopefully I can learn from the pros on this forum. I set up this network piecemeal as my needs changed over the past few years, so it may not be the cleanest design, but I hope I can modify it a bit to get it working without doing a major redesign/hardware upgrade.

First I'll describe the network basically. Please ask any questions necessary to clarify important points necessary to fix my issue.

[DSL Modem]--ethernet--[Belkin Router A]--ethernet--[EnGenius EOC-5610 AP]--3.5 miles wireless bridge--[EnGenius EOC-5610 AP]--ethernet--[Belkin Router B]--wireless repeater bridge--[Belkin Router C]

All the hardware is off the shelf, with the exception of Router C which has been modified by DD.WRT to enable the wireless repeater bridge feature. But if you like you can ignore the connection to Router C altogether, because the issue was present even before I added it to the network.

The 3.5 mile wireless bridge is a slow (but stable and reliable) link in the chain and operates at just 2.5 Mbps, but this is normally not an issue because I rarely transfer large files across this bridge, and my internet is only 1.5 Mbps.