All home networking related discussions.
captainentropy

Problem mapping network drive

Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:52 am

Hi everyone,

I have a headscratcher. Background: I work in a research lab. It's a multi-OS environment. I'm new to the lab and I'm the only one with a shred of computer know-how, and apparently no one before me knew much about computers, networking, etc. We have lots of equipment with computers attached to them that generate a lot of data. A major problem has been the data winds up being stored on flash drives, CDs, and sometimes just left on the computer drives themselves. That is a disaster waiting to happen so I had the lab purchase a network file server. (I could have built one but I'm the only computer literate one so when I leave the lab there can't be a frankenlinuxbox left to manage, yeah?). We now have a QNAP 439 Pro with 1TB mirrored storage and a 1TB external drive to which it is backed up every other day.